Killarney Shamrocks win provincial championship


By Eoin Devereux

Neepawa Banner/Neepawa Press

The Killarney Shamrocks of the Tiger Hills Hockey League have won the 2016 Manitoba Senior ‘A’ Provincial Championship. The Shamrocks earned the title with a 9-4 win over the Lac du Bonnet Blues, the Manitoba Senior Hockey League champions, on Sunday, Apr. 10 at the MTS Iceplex in Winnipeg.

Killarney advanced to the championship game by claiming a 5-2 victory over the Carman Beavers, the South Eastern Manitoba Hockey League champions, on Saturday night in Winnipeg. The Blues, meanwhile, were able to edge the Carillon Senior Hockey League champion Ste. Anne Aces in the other semifinal, by the score of 3-2.