Robertson named second seed at senior men's provincial curling championship


Neepawa's Kelly Robertson was named the second seed for the upcoming senior men's provincial curling championship, slated to take place in Brandon.

Defending champion Bob Sigurdson is the No. 1 seed for the event. Sigurdson's West Kildonan rink defeated Robertson in the championship final last year. 

Scott Furevick's Fort Rouge rink is seeded third, while Mike Mahon's Deer Lodge team and Barrie Sigurdson's foursome from Pembina are fourth and fifth respectively. 

Meanwhile, Brandon's Lois Fowler is the No. 1 ranked women's team, followed by Stonewall's Laurie Deprez. 

Karen Fallis of Thistle, Deb Collyer of Killarney and Lori Pelissier of Manitou round out the top five seeds. 

Both the men's and women's events begins next Thursday at the Brandon Curling Club. The women's championship final is slated for Sunday, Feb. 23, while the men's final is set for Monday, Feb. 24. 

The winners of the both the men's and women's events will advance to represent Manitoba at the 2014 Canadian Senior Championships, set to take place in Yellowknife, March 22-30.

File photo