Male rosters announced for 2014 Manitoba Winter Games; Neepawa's Rainka named to Parkland U-16 team


Hockey Manitoba recently released the rosters for the male hockey competition at the 2014 Manitoba Winter Games.

Every fourth season, the Games, which take place March 2-8 in Morden, Stanley and Winkler, act as the first phase of the Hockey Manitoba Program of Excellence (POE) and replaces the program's spring tournament.

Among those named to rosters include Neepawa's Will Rainka of the Yellowhead Chiefs Bantam AAA squad who was named to the Parkland under-16 team. The Parkland team also includes several other members of the Chiefs, including Troy Johnson and Ryan Heino of Minnedosa, Chayce Hanson of Onanole, Aiden Woodley of Strathclair, Ben Moybray of St. Lazare and Jacob Tibbats of Foxwarren. Meanwhile, Reese Jones of Brookdale, another member of the Chiefs AAA Bantam squad, was named to the Norman U-16 team.

Both the U-16 male and U-18 female programs will use the Manitoba Winter Games to identify players to move on to the second phase for the Program of Excellence which is the Top 40 camp, which is held in May.

Team are made up from eight Sport Manitoba regions which slightly differ from the 10 Hockey Manitoba regional boundaries; Central, Eastman, Interlake, Norman, Parkland, Westman, Winnipeg-Blue, Winnipeg-Gold. 

The U-16 Program of Excellence and male Manitoba Winter Games competition will feature the top players born in 1999 vying for a potential spot on the U-16 Team Manitoba roster next season. Team Manitoba will compete at the 2015 Canada Winter Games, to be held in Prince George, BC.

For a full listing of all the rosters, click here.

With files from Hockey Manitoba release